I’m really sick of the “white privilege” label!  I’m really sick of hearing people like Rosie O”Donnell and other celebrities talk about “white privilege”.  They don’t know what they’re talking about.

Ask the white people that are living in West Virginia, Pennsylvania, or Illinois, that have lost the coal mines and industries if they feel so “privileged” just because they happen to be born white.  We have just as many white people, if not more, living in poverty in this country.  Just like the black and hispanic they feel they have no way out.

I am a firm believer that no matter the color of your skin we have the SAME opportunities. It is up to us what we do with those opportunities.  In America we ALL have the opportunity to go to school, although some schools are better than others, we can still get an education. What we choose to do with that education is up to US!

Yes, I’m white, but any privilege I’ve had is because my grandparents, my parents, and myself have worked. I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth.  It was never given to me because I’m white.  I’ve worked everyday since I finished high school.  The color of my skin has never offered me anything “extra.’

My mother’s father was a coal miner and when he died from lung disease and at an early age, my grandmother, with three little girls, worked the rest of her life in a hosiery factory. My mother went to work at a laundry at the age of fourteen!  My father grew up on the streets from the age of eight after the death of his mother.  They lived in the poverty ridden section  of town and he never knew who his father was.  He never learned to read and write because he had to work for pennies to feed himself.  He would get meals occasionally that his sister would sneak to him through the back door of the house where she lived as a servant, at age ten!  Where was their “white privilege?”

Throughout my parent’s marriage they always worked hard. She worked in a laundry and sewing factory.  He worked in a block plant and as a commerical painter.  They raised four children and NEVER once were we on welfare or food stamps.  We always had food on the table and a roof over our heads.  It was because they worked hard everyday, not because they were privileged because they were white!

My husband, whose father worked in the coal mine, and mother worked as a lunch lady in an elementary school, didn’t lead a “white privileged” life either.  His parents’, just like mine, worked hard all their lives and raised their family without government aid.

He and I have raised two children of our own by holding down jobs, building a home, praising God, and living paycheck to paycheck.

Our daugher went to college on student loans that took her years to pay off.  She didn’t get a college education for free or because she is “white.”

I just wish people would really look around and see that there is NO “White Privilege!” It’s a myth.  If you see rich white people it is because SOMEBODY worked for it.  Even if they inherited the money SOMEBODY still worked for it.

The “White Privilege” label is doing nothing but inventing and stirring hatred toward white people.  It is unwarranted and irresponsible.  Especially coming from the mouths of those that have big bank accounts.The only “privilege” any of us Have , no matter the color of our skin, is being  born in the great country of America.

 

Leave a Reply

